Super Dating S3: Chapter 1 – Some Things Never Change

Guess who’s back, back again!  Did you miss me?  Did you think my story was over?  Oh it’s just getting good.  I started this by saying write what you know and at this point I still don’t know a whole lot.  Life confuses me.  I barely recognize myself in the mirror most days.  And love, I’m pretty much clueless about.  So instead of writing about what I know, I’m going to try something different.  I’m going to write about the things I know very little about.  Those things that I’m still learning, be it very slowly.  I can’t promise you that it won’t be messy, my life tends to veer that way.  I can’t guarantee I won’t make a million mistakes, over and over again.  But I can assure you that the ride will be worth the trip.

In the world of comics a recap is a necessity.  Who wants to go back and reread pages upon pages of stuff you already know, but just kind of forgot a little.  So let me spare you hours of catch up in a few short sentences.  When we last left our brave heroine (me) my life was for lack of a better word was going to shit.  My best friend was getting married the same time my frenemy was lighting the match that would the burn the whole place down.  I had lied to my boyfriend who I was supposed to be moving in with.  I also was developing feelings for a guy I had said a total of 5 sentences to.  Needless to say it was quite the night.  Well that night thankfully ended, be it tears, screaming and heartache.  On the plus side there was no bloodshed (that happens later in the story).  Endings as I’ve mentioned before lead to new beginnings and that was exactly the case after that night.  Only it wasn’t just me who was starting a whole new chapter.

 

Just like in a movie or a tv show you have supporting characters.  This are the people who aren’t always in the spotlight in fact sometimes you forget they are there.  But they almost always play a key role in the main characters development.  The girl who you thought was a friend but turned out to be more of a frenemy.  The guy next door who you thought just served as another cute guy but now wonder if he’s more than just that.  The main character would be nothing without them,  however their stories don’t usually get fleshed out.  You never learn what goes on after they leave the main character.  You don’t learn that the frenemy found some new friends to play with and destroy.  You never hear that the cute guy next door moved out and is currently filming his next blockbuster in some exotic jungle.  Once the main character is done with them they fade into the background, usually replaced by new characters.  But sometimes a supporting character will play a bigger part in the story, you just have to wait a little longer to see just how.

 

Have you ever heard of the rhyme that goes…first comes love, then comes marriage, then comes so and so with a baby carriage?  Well my friend Dara must have too because she followed it to a tee.  Shortly after marrying the love of her life she got pregnant.  Of course I was happy for her.  I was going to be an Auntie.  Trust me that baby was going to be spoiled rotten.  But I couldn’t help but feel something else when I heard the news.  Along with happiness I felt jealousy.  I was jealous that my best friend was living the life I had always envisioned I be living by now.  Instead of first comes love, then comes marriage, for me it was more like first comes love, then comes heartbreak, oh here comes love again, followed by some more love and then one more love, ending in total annihilation of my heart.

 

Think about the worst thing you’ve ever done.  Maybe you “borrowed” your parents car when you didn’t quite have your license yet.  Or perhaps you were a little short on cash and decided your favorite store wouldn’t miss one little shirt.  You could have flirted with your best friends boyfriend when they were supposed to be on a break.  All of these things are not great but if you multiplied them all by 1,000 you still wouldn’t have come close to what I did to Joseph.  Not only had a kissed an ex, who let’s face it was more then just an ex boyfriend, but I kept it a secret.  I never actually lied to Joseph, I just never told him the truth.  You may not think there’s a difference but there’s a big one.  You can lie about your age but truth is you do it because you’re terrified of being older.  You can lie about where you live but the truth is you never feel like you belong anywhere.  Lies can hurt but it’s just a surface cut.   If you put a bandaid on it and give it a little time it’s like nothing ever happened.  That’s what happened with Joseph and me.  I lied about kissing my ex.  It hurt for a little bit, we both felt the sting of the open wound.  But we slapped on a bandaid.  He decided to forgive and I chose to forget.

The word familiar in the dictionary means in close friendship, intimate.   It described us in that moment perfectly.  Joseph and I had made it through the fire and we came out closer then ever.  Yes we got a bit singed, but we survived.  Most importantly we survived together.  Things between us became familiar again. 

Familiar is also defined as well known from long or close association.  When you first read that you think how sweet how nice that is.  But if you really stop to think about it, it’s not how you would want to define your romantic relationship.  Joseph and I had made it through the fire.  Things between us became familiar again.  Almost too familiar, like a life I had long ago.  A life that didn’t have a happy ending.

:::SIDENOTE:::

If you’d like to download any of the characters or builds you see in this story I will post the links to them below, along with a great big thank you to the creators!

Erin created by swcheppes

Jospeh Gordon Levitt originally created by Snorkas, downloaded aiqueabsurdo (I’ve given him a bit of a makeover compared to the downloaded version)

Chris Evans created by yddam98

One thought on “Super Dating S3: Chapter 1 – Some Things Never Change

Leave a comment